Labour’s Helen Dennis wins Chaucer ward by-election

Labour's Helen Dennis has been elected as a Southwark councillor in the Chaucer ward by-election.

Labour’s Helen Dennis wins Chaucer ward by-election

Chaucer ward stretches from St Thomas Street to Elephant & Castle, Bricklayers Arms and Bermondsey Square. It is dominated by the Rockingham and Tabard Gardens estates.

The by-election was triggered by the resignation of Labour's Claire Maugham less than a year after she joined the council.

Results in full

• Dean Conway (UKIP) 240
• Piers Corbyn (Independent) 67
• Helen Dennis (Labour) 2,951
• Michael Dowsett (Conservative) 964
• William Houngbo (Lib Dem) 1,532
• Ade Lasaki (All People's Party) 25
• Gareth Rees (Green) 564

Cllr Helen Dennis will serve alongside ward colleagues Karl Eastham and Vijay Luthra.

Chaucer ward by election declaration
Tags: Politics & local government, Southwark

© 1998-2024 Bankside Press Ltd
Privacy & data protection | Complaints procedure
Member of the Independent Community News Network